​Association of Military Dermatologists

San Antonio Uniformed Services Health Education Consortium
Location: Wilford Hall Ambulatory Surgery Center & San Antonio Military Medical Center, San Antonio, TX
Program Director: Lt Col Wendi Wohltmann, MD, USAF
Assistant Program Director: LTC James Neiner, MD, USA

The SAUSHEC Dermatology Residency Program continues to be a combined Army/Air Force program with a total of 23 residents of which 12 are Army and 11 are Air Force. We currently have 8 staff, 5 Army and 3 Air Force who supervise residents and practice dermatology at both San Antonio Military Medical Center, Fort Sam Houston and the Wilford Hall Ambulatory Surgical Center at Lackland AFB. In addition to the outstanding clinical care they deliver to our dermatology patients, our current residents continue to excel in multiple areas to include performance on national in-training examinations, participation in national and regional meetings, publications in nationally recognized dermatology journals and participation in numerous investigator initiated research trials. Current research areas include identification of optimal treatment of postoperative wounds, laser remodeling of burn and other scars, epigenetic analysis of SJS/TEN, CCCA and AKN, and the prevalence of nonalcoholic fatty liver disease in psoriatics. Our residents again participated this year in Air Force sponsored humanitarian missions to include support missions to the Dominican Republic. We continue to accept high quality applicants for positions in the residency program but could always benefit from a greater number of applicants who are motivated to train to become outstanding dermatologists. We ask for your continued recruiting efforts among your colleagues and promising medical students. We additionally continue to look for experienced staff members who are interested in returning to an academic training environment and helping to mold the next generation of military dermatologists. If you have any questions or would like additional information, please contact the program director, associate program director or program coordinator listed below.

​Current staff:
- Lt Col Wendi Wohltmann, Air Force Dermatopathologist
- Lt Col Emily Wong, Air Force Mohs Surgeon
- Lt Col Shannan McCann, Air Force Pediatric Dermatologist
- Maj Justin Bandino, Air Force Dermatopathologist
- Maj Shannon Buck, Air Force Mohs Surgeon
- Maj Brittany Lenz, Air Force Dermatologist

- LTC Gordon Rainey, Army Dermatologist
- LTC James Neiner, Army Mohs Surgeon
- MAJ Brandon McNally, Army Dermatopathologist
- MAJ Nathaniel Miletta, Army Dermatologist
- MAJ Danielle Neal, Army Dermatologist

​​- Mrs Teresa Fite, Program Coordinator, teresa.m.fite.civ@mail.mil